Independent India’s 17th general elections will be conducted on the 11th of April. This election is to fill 543 seats out of a total of 545 seats of the Lok Sabha. 2 people will be chosen by the President if they feel like Anglo-Indian representation is low. The 543 elected members of the Lok Sabha will select the next Prime Minister.

The total electorate size is around 900 million. There will be almost 1 million polling stations. There were 464 political parties contesting in 2014 all over India.The candidates fielded by these parties and the independent candidates resulted in a total sum of 8251 individual contestants. In 2014, BJP won 282 seats, the largest majority commanded by a single party in 30 years.

The most predictable thing about the general elections is it’s unpredictability. That said, opinion polls reveal that Modi remains highly popular after four years in office, and the BJP has managed to methodically expand its national footprint in numerous state elections since 2014.

The 2014 elections were pretty unusual. Between 2004 and 2014, the Congress party along with its allies (known collectively as the United Progressive Alliance, or UPA) ran the central government in New Delhi. The first term of UPA saw record economic growth. Its second term was less positive. Also, doubts about the leadership, and a barrage of corruption allegations put a dent in its popularity.

In 2014, the BJP became the first party to form a majority since 1984. This means no coalition would be needed. The BJP won 282 seats, while the Congress won 44 seats. This was its worst performance ever. Its previous lowest being 114 in 1999. 
It is safe to assume that each and every one of us is aware of the major talking points of both national parties.

The BJP will use Ayodhya, Pulwama and its retaliation, corrupt elements within Congress, progress of the economy, the government’s performance as well as Modi’s star power. The UPA will use the mismanagement of Demonetization, the GST problem, Rafale deal, communal elements within BJP, the Congress manifesto and the NYAY scheme.

The election schedule was announced on 10 March 2019, and with it the Model Code of Conduct came into force. The election is scheduled to be held in seven phases, with counting starting on 23 May.