Did you know how much the wealth of our MPs has increased in five years? According to the report of Election Watch and Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR), the average assets of 153 MPs of the country increased by 142% between 2009 and 2014. In it, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP Shatrughan Sinha, also known as Bihari Babu and Shotgun elected from the famous Patna Sahib parliamentary constituency, was at the top.

Highest increase in assets of Shatrughan Sinha

According to the ADR report, the average assets of 153 MPs, which were re-elected in 2014, increased by 142 percent, an average of 13.32 crore per MP. In this case Bihar’s Shatrughan Sinha was on top. Biju Janta Dal’s Pinaki Mishra and the Congress Party’s Supriya Sule’s are also in the top 3.

Shatrughan Sinha’s assets were around Rs 15 crore at the time of the 2009 election which increased to Rs 131 crore in 2014. Similarly, the assets of Pinaki Mishra increased from Rs 30 crore to Rs 137 crore and Supriya Sule’s assets increased from Rs 51 crore to Rs 113 crore.

Rahul Gandhi’s Assets increased from 2 crore to 7 crore

The Assets of Congress president and MP Rahul Gandhi increased from Rs 2 crore in 2009 to Rs 7 crore in 2014.

At the party level, the assets of the BJP’s 72 MPs increased by an average of Rs 7.54 crore and the assets of 28 Congress MPs increased by an average of 6.35 crore rupees.