Team India made a challenging target of 251 in the Nagpur ODI, thanks to the number one batsman Virat Kohli’s century (116 runs, 120 balls). Virat, with his 40th ODI century, broke a few records at the Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) Stadium in Jamtha.

Pat Cummins sent opener Rohit Sharma (0) to the pavilion in the first over, after which Kohli stepped on the crease and played wonderful innings of 116 runs, including ten fours.

30-year-old Kohli completed his 40th century in 216th innings of his ODI career. He achieved this by playing 139 innings less than ‘Master Blaster’ Sachin Tendulkar. Sachin made his 40th century in his 355th innings in 2006.

Most ODI centuries

  • 49 Sachin Tendulkar (452 ​​innings)
  • 40 Virat Kohli (216 innings)
  • 30 Ricky Ponting (365 innings)

He completed 9000 runs in the shortest innings as the Captain of an International Cricket team (Test + ODI + T-20 International). He achieved this feat in his 159th innings. Earlier this record was claimed by Ricky Ponting, who completed his 9000 international runs in 204 innings as captain.

Most runs as captain in international cricket

1. Ricky Ponting: 15440 runs in 376 innings
2. Graeme Smith: 4,878 runs in 368 innings. 
3. Stephen Fleming: 115 runs in 348 innings
4. MS Dhoni: 11207 runs in 330 innings 
5. Alan Border: 11062 runs in 319 innings 
6. Virat Kohli: 9094 runs in 159 innings 
(Virat – Test 4515 runs + ODIs 3,773 runs + T20 International 606 runs)

Virat Kohli has 40 ODI centuries. Smith, Root and Williamson have a combined 33 ODI centuries.

  • Smith: 8
  • Kane: 11
  • Root: 14